Thought we were friends

Posted: September 28, 2008 in rant
Tags: , ,

I had to write this while I still felt the sting of my latest email.  Here I was happy at the name that popped up in my email inbox.  I haven’t heard from this person in a long time and couldn’t hardly wait for the message to load.  Then there it is and I begin to read…  (GINORMOUS EXPLETIVE!!)

It was a funky little, “send this message on to (x) amount of people or else your testicles will wither up and fall off.”  Now that wasn’t the actual penalty for not forwarding the email but it might as well have been.  Do these friggin’ emails bug anyone else as much as they bother me?  I feel somewhat alone because I get so many of these damn things from so many different people that I think others must really like getting and sending these things.  I’ve even had the Bible-thumpers I know (born agains) sending me emails stating things like, God’s love is conditional unless you send this out to ….  ARE THEY SERIOUS?

The person who finally laid that last straw on my camel’s back is someone I haven’t seen or heard from in years. This person finally decides to reach out to me and this is what you send me!?  No news on life in their little piece of the world.  Are the kids doing good?  How’s the wife?   Do you even have a wife anymore?  I don’t know.  And since you only seem to send this goofy crap, I don’t know ANYTHING!  We have more communications tools on this planet than ever in history and people have nothing worth while to say to each other.

I’m glad I never listened to that, “Never talk to strangers” crap because I can walk into a little hole-in-the-wall bar, hop on a barstool and have a more compelling conversation with a complete stranger than I do with the people I thought I knew.  What’s this world coming to?

Does anyone out there feel my pain?

The next person who sends me one of these emails better prepare for company the Saturday morning following,  because I’m going to arrange a visit to their house by their local Jahova’s Witness representatives.

FIRST THING IN THE A.M.!!

Paybacks are a … ( I like dogs so I won’t go there )

Comments
  1. Aaron G says:

    I hear ya – I always send back a message to them with a link to – http://www.snopes.com – and tell them to check it out first b4 you go bugging everyone.

    That site will prove that 99.9999% of those Emails are crap – and they research them to make sure.

Leave a Reply

