Why Remember

Posted: September 11, 2008 in mystery posts, rant
Tags: , , ,

Do we even learn anything from all of these “remember” moments.

Many good people died on September 11th, 2001 and we will focus on those who died that day and we will focus on the American soldiers that have been killed since but I think we should also use this day of “REMEMBERING” to think about those innocent brothers and sisters of Iraq ( the civilians ) who are being bombed-out and killed in their homes every day.  They have to try to live with strike bombs blowing up whole buildings to get a few terrorists.  Now I wouldn’t presume to know of a better tactic or possible procedure.  However, It seems those methods are like the local police blowing up your whole eight-story building to get the crack dealer in apartment number 301.  That’s all I’m saying.

IF you’re interested check out this article on the estimated deaths caused by the conflict http://www.cnn.com/2006/WORLD/meast/10/11/iraq.deaths/

staggering.  Isn’t it?

I recall the event in 2001 like any other person on this planet. Television made sure the images were burnt into our brains. The shock and horror of the event is something I hope will never be surpassed.

Today
I was watching my local news and the reporter posed a question, “have the events of nine eleven changed your life in some way?”  When I ponder that question I realize something, it really hasn’t. I may be more aware of some world issues than prior to the event but even then I’m only getting the news that we (N. Americans) are spoon-fed by the main stream media.
Back to the question, “Has my life changed?” The answer, “NO.” However, for the people of Iraq their entire existence has changed.
I know what happened was horrible but for the last seven years coalition forces have been bombing the hell out of that region. Is it just me or isn’t that a little excessive?
Talk about the events of nine eleven changing your life.
I was born and raised right here in peace-loving Canada. Way back when, I even had an affiliation with the Canadian military Forces.   However I found that particular career and I were mutually incompatible.  It was good for the social aspect and perhaps for getting in good physical shape but I’m of the mind that if you shoot at people you have to expect they will shoot back at you.   Which led me to reason, by not shooting at people I’m certain I have reduced the chance of someone shooting at me by a significant amount.   Now I know I haven’t reduced my chances down to a zero chance of being shot but the odds are much better.
I’m just glad that I discovered this information during a time of peace and not in some “war-torn” country. Sure, I played the “war-games” and ran around a few obstacle courses, screaming my interpretation of a “war-cry” I even shot a few rifles and guns, but as far as I was concerned I was just playing games.  When the reality of the whole, “preparing for war” situation actually sank in, I knew it was time for me to make sure they would never ask me back.  I was sucessful in my endeavor. Things will have to get really bad before they ask me to be a soldier again and I’m O.K. with that.  You may want to call me a coward if you like but I’ll be a two-legged coward!!  Ya hear me.
Back then, when I was marching in the endless number of parades “remembering” the fallen soldiers from this war and that war, I was under the impression we “Remebered” so that these types of atrocities are never repeated. That we learn from the evils of war, but we don’t.

Is it just me??????

I believe they are accomplishing only one thing over there and that’s creating a whole new generation of future terrorists.

As I said before though, maybe it’s just me.

PEACE

Comments
  1. desertorchid says:

    Ok…this comment has nothing to do with this entry.

    I just wanted to say thank you for your kind words in my comments. I really do want to educate my friends about my disorder. Sometimes they don’t understand my moods.

    And I write what I feel…so I guess my posts can be a little candid. haha. Thanks for stopping by though. I have now subscribed to your blog!

Leave a Reply

